Committee and Officers of the club

Felpham Sailing Club operates as two clubs – Felpham Sailing Club (a CASC ‘Community Amateur Sports Club’) and Felpham Sailing Club Supporters Club (for non-sailors). The Committee of each club is shown below.

Felpham Sailing Club (CASC)

The Officers of the Club consist of a Commodore, a Vice-Commodore, two Rear-Commodores, an Honorary Secretary, an Honorary Subscription Secretary and an Honorary Treasurer. Officers are elected at the Annual General Meeting in each year.

The committee consists of the officers, the RYA Training Principal a Bosun and not more than six further members of the club, together with the Cadet Captain.

The committee manage the affairs of the club according to the club rules.  Officers are elected at the Annual General Meeting in each year and shall hold office for one year, retiring at the termination of the Annual General Meeting in each year. All Officers of the Club are eligible for re-election, however, the office of Commodore is held by each successive Commodore for a period not exceeding two years.

In addition to the Committee and Officers we also have a part-time steward who deals with much of the day to day running of the club.


Ross Fisher (President)

Flag Officers

Martin Gillam (Commodore)
Chris Whitney (Vice Commodore)
David Maltby (Rear Commodore – Development)
Richard Bentley (Rear Commodore – Sailing)


Ian King (Secretary)
Julie Maltby (Subscriptions Secretary)
Andrew Riley
Andrew Riley (Treasurer)

Committee Members

Sarah Long
Sarah Long
Sian Bray
Mike Pelling
Richard Towse

Recognised Training Centre Principal

Paul Miller
Paul Miller

Club Steward

Casey Grainger
Casey Grainger


Marcus Wide
Marcus Wide

Club Boat Manager

George Carney

Cadet Representative

Josie Kelly

Felpham Sailing Club (Supporters Club)

Information about the Supporters Club can be found in this dedicated part of the website.

Felpham Sailing Club Commodores

Alf Beale1955-1956
Barny Buckland1956-1957
Lou Lake1957-1961
Monty Hand1961-1981
Gordon Pullinger1981-1984
Tom Conners1984-1986
Bob May1986-1987
Paul Hemsley1987-1988
Derek Rowe1988-1990
Ross Fisher1990-1993
Keith Fisher1993-1995
James Bond1995-1997
Cindy Bloor1997-1999
Richard Cutsforth1999-2001
Martin Seagrove2001-2003
Alison Shelley2003-2005
Andrew Farrer2005-2007
Roger Belton2007-2009
Catherine Davies2009-2010
Alison Hirons2010-2011
Paula Bentley2011-2013
Keith Hopper2013-2014
Pat Cullen2014-2016
Ross Fisher2016-2017
David Rowe2017-2019
Guy Mayger2019-2021
Glenn Powell2021-2023
Martin Gillam2023-date


The position of President is an Honorary one, and is given in recognition of long service to the Club.

Richard M. Bond1972-1994
Monty Hand1995-1996
Gordon Pullinger2004-2009
Mike Harris2009-2019
Ross Fisher2019-date